Gluten-free Breakfast Series – Part 1: Mini Pancakes Anyone?

As someone who has been gluten free for nearly 3 years, one of the most frequent questions I get is what I eat for breakfast. I guess this is understandable being that gluten seems to be the main constituent in so many people’s diets especially in the morning. After deliberating for some time, I realised that I have quite a few go to’s that are both quick and easy (2 of my favourite words). This is especially important for me now because I’ll be a working gal again after a long break and my morning hours will be even more precious.

On this particularly lovely weekend morning/afternoon, I decided to indulge and make myself some delectable mini pancakes. Who am I kidding, these babies go down well at any time of day. With a little maple syrup. Maybe some fruit on top? Done. And dare I mention that my day began well after the morning hours? Something my friends with children have always poked fun at me for but I’m convinced secretly envy. Ohhhhh Yeahhhh, I love me some lazy weekend mornings. Without further ado, I share with you my tried & tested mini pancakes recipe :

 

Mini Gluten-free Pancakes – (makes ~12-14 mini pancakes)

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup gluten free oats
  • 1 ripe banana
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • a pinch of salt
  • 2 tsp lemon juice
  • 2 tblsp coconut oil
  • a little water (if necessary)
  • handful of blueberries (optional)

Add all ingredients together in a blender making sure to add the baking soda and lemon juice simultaneously so they can react. Blend until fully combined. Mix in a little water if needed.

Next, pour the mixture into several small circles onto a preheated lightly greased frying pan. Cook for a few minutes until browned then flip using a spatula, wait a few more minutes and voilà you’re done.

Add honey, apple sauce, jam or anything else you like. I went with blueberries and  some good ol’ fashioned Canadian maple syrup to belatedly celebrate Canada’s 150th in my little corner in Dubai.

pancakes 2

A word of caution, these will go fast so eat them fresh off the pan! In fact, they’re so good Mr. Lenz thought it was milkshake I had made and poured himself a glass straight from the blender. He definitely won’t live that one down for awhile!

 

pancakes 3

Hope you enjoy these as much as I do. Please share how the pancakes turned out for you in the comments below.

Stay tuned for the next recipe in my Gluten-free breakfast series, it’s going to be a good one. Hint: something shared with my Somali roots and our Ethiopian neighbours.

signature (1)

signature (2)

8 thoughts on “Gluten-free Breakfast Series – Part 1: Mini Pancakes Anyone?

  1. An easy recipe, with two of my favorite ingredients: GF oats (what would I do without them?) and ripe bananas. I have a similar recipe with a little coconut flour; I also add some lemon juice on top of the baking soda: it activates it and takes away some of its peculiar taste.
    Banana oat milkshake for Mr Lentz, ha-ha!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

